I wish Noteflight would...

Stop the hi-hat audio when a hi-hat is "closed"

As a drummer, I often find myself frustrated with the fact that when I play an open hi-hat note, and want a sort of "tee-op" sound by closing the hi-hat soon afterwards (usually a 16th or 8th note later), the audio does not cut off and I have to listen to it ring throughout the beat until the actual audio sample ends. My suggestion would just be to cut it off when a "hi-hat with foot" or a closed hi-hat (+) is notated, if not use an actual audio sample for the cut-off. I made a quick score that shows this problem, and why it is obnoxious when incorporated in a beat. If this could be fixed I would be ecstatic!
Here is the score: http://www.noteflight.com/scores/view/159b4c9c90527866035017b5c4c6d9b1e7323162

82 votes
Vote
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: facebook google
Signed in as (Sign out)
You have left! (?) (thinking…)
Anonymous shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

11 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: facebook google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • drfangaz commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Export the audio into your DAW of choice. Afterwards, try using a gate effects plugin on the imported audio track of your DAW to control the decay of the open hats.

• Winfree03 commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

The Hi-Hat, whenever played open, should stop playing open whenever you write a closed Hi-Hat. This sometimes makes it frustrating to write music, and multiple hi-hat sounds overlap

Thanks!

~Winfree03

• Will Boender commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I don't know if I'm the only one, but I am not a fan of the open hi-hat sound on the crescendo standard kit. I prefer the sound from the basic kit, but it's just an opinion. Once again, I may not be the only one, but a change would be nice. Also, the audio should stop when the hi-hat closes again.

• Cornelius commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate